Some food for thought

24 Apr

I have modeled daily for the past three weeks… until today.  Today, I’m embracing laziness, and it couldn’t be going better.

There is a lot of effort that goes into being a model. Even when I’m not working, I don’t allow myself too much craziness, because it all shows on the skin. Drinking to excess puts bags and circles under the eyes. Smoking causes premature aging of the skin. Overeating is the kiss of death, and lack of sleep is…. well, they don’t call it “beauty sleep” for nothing. Any unauthorized hairstyle change, weight gain or loss, and even visible bruising and scarring can mean the loss of a job, not to mention the need to re-do all promotional photos and comp cards.

Not that I’m complaining – I love my job. My look, however, is my stock in trade, and that is a 24-hour a day issue to consider, which is what makes lazy days like today so potentially delicious. Today, I woke up and decided that I’d do exactly what I pleased. I thought about all the pizza and chocolate in my future, and even the margaritas I’ll celebrate with tonight. No gym, no makeup, nada.

Breakfast consisted of some leftover chocolate bunny from Easter and a glass of milk. Lunch was macaroni and cheese and birthday cake, and dinner will be Papa John’s pizza and breadsticks. Between meals, I munched on chips and slug Dr. Pepper. I look like hell – I haven’t showered, I’m still in my pajamas, and I’m not even sure if I combed my hair today.

People do all sorts of things on their days off from work. They go to the mall or to the movies, or they spend all day in bed. For a hard-working model, the best day off is a day of complete gastronomic hedonism. Salt, grease and sugar – the holy trinity of fattening and nutrient-free delight.

Absolutely delicious!

One Response to “Some food for thought”

  1. Diptesh Chatterjee June 5, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    hi, i am so glad that you wrote again as i always love your writing skills, it was sad to know your suffering at work but i know you also enjoy it as every one suffers to reach their goal, the main thing is that you love your work so do i.
    i dont know if you are reading it or not but if u are please dont stop writing keep on writing and if you get time from your busy schedule give me a reply at diptesh14@gmail.com or http://twitter.com/diptesh14

Leave a Reply

